Kale Chips: A Quick, Easy and Nutrient Rich Snack!

Kale is a somewhat new-to-me food.  When I began working at Lamb’s Bread Vegan Cafe, I hadn’t before heard of the Queen of all Greens.  I personally grew up on collards and mustard greens (neither of which should be sneezed at nutritionally or taste-wise), but once I tried kale I was sold.  When I researched the nutritional benefits, I was devoted!  Kale is a bonafide super food; check out the benefits of a diet rich in kale, according to WebMD:

Eating a variety of natural, unprocessed vegetables can do wonders for your health, but choosing super-nutritious kale on a regular basis may provide significant health benefits, including cancer protection and lowered cholesterol.

and

One cup of kale contains 36 calories, 5 grams of fiber, and 15% of the daily requirement of calcium and vitamin B6 (pyridoxine), 40% of magnesium, 180% of vitamin A, 200% of vitamin C, and 1,020% of vitamin K. It is also a good source of minerals copper, potassium, iron, manganese, and phosphorus.

AND!!

Eating a diet rich in the powerful antioxidant vitamin K can reduce the overall risk of developing or dying from cancer, according to a study in the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition. Vitamin K is abundant in kale but also found in parsley, spinach, collard greens, and animal products such as cheese.

Thanks WebMD!  All that being said, I enjoy eating kale lightly steamed as well as in salad form, although in a salad kale should be chopped very finely to avoid being too tough and chewy.  But my new favorite way to prepare kale is as a chip!  It’s the easiest thing I’ve ever made that required turning an oven on and literally takes 15 minutes total to prepare and cook.  

Ingredients:

  • Raw Kale
  • Olive Oil
  • Sea Salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Wash kale thoroughly and pluck from the stalks.  
  3. Spread kale leaves evenly across a baking sheet and lightly drizzle with olive oil (for taste, moisture and to help your seasoning adhere).
  4.  Add your seasoning of choice (I kept it simple with sea salt) and pop into the oven.

 I let mine bake for about 10 minutes until it was crispy, but I advise keeping a close eye on your batch to make up for variances in oven times.  I loved my kale chips and quickly gobbled up the entire pan, probably consuming at least three servings of the life saving and beautifying veggie in one sitting.  

These make for a nice snack or an accompaniment to a meal or sandwich!  Enjoy, with love!

3 thoughts on “Kale Chips: A Quick, Easy and Nutrient Rich Snack!

Leave a Reply

