Earthday Ensemble

I’ve been dying to share my birthday outfit Part II with you guys since I slipped it on the night of the 12th.  The best laid plans of mice and men often go awry, as was the case to a minor degree that fateful evening…but all’s well that ends well and I happen to be a pretty go-with-the-flow type of gal.

My friend Emily and I had plans to meet up at the very hip and ultra moody Goatfeathers, a bar and lounge in 5Points.  Due to weather, parking and some tricky heels..I was running about 20 minutes late meeting her.  None the less, I beat my date there but realized after about 20 more minutes that I’d be enjoying my champagne alone that evening.  Not one to let hiccups derail my good time, I got much more acquainted with the artwork, the bartender and one of the patrons who happened to be a professor of Islamic studies at USC.  Fascinating conversation ensued…

Goat Feathers

Goat Feathers

After a glass of bubbly, a bummed cigg (working on it…) and some deep convo I took my tail to the Koger Center, where I had my fingers crossed that Emily was waiting on me.  Alas, as soon as I walked out from the rain (in suede heels) through the gargantuan glass double doors and into the empty lobby (10 minutes into show-time), the greeter saw the look of concern on my face, said “Are you Katie?” and handed me a ticket.  Emily and I happily met up, relieved to see the other was ok and laughed when we found out that we’d simply gotten our bars mixed up; she had been waiting on me at Hunter Gatherer while I was waiting on her at Goatfeahters.  And come to find out, we both know how to have a good time solo dolo.  The symphony itself was a compilation of tracks from Rodgers and Hammerstein musicals.  It was so light-hearted and refreshing, creating an evening to remember, for certain.

Now, to the main event…

005

004

This was a very different look for me, definitely sweeter and less I will fashionably kick your a$$ if I have to, which is probably a good thing.  I don’t normally do colorful lace mini-dresses but I felt so ultra-femenine and pretty all evening that I’ve vowed to channel this side of myself more frequently.  I almost paired the dress with black pumps to tone it down, but am so glad I went the bolder route and wore pink and gold heels!  I think the shoes took the outfit up a notch.

Now for the fun part:

Dress:  New with tags from thrift store:  $4.50

Shoes:  Thrift Store:  $12

Earrings:  Claires: $4.50

Total Outfit Cost:  $21

Cheers to frugal fashions and turning 27 like a fine red wine!  (If I do say so, myself)

Leave a Reply

