Raves for Rodarte’s Spring 2012 RTW Collection

Rodarte has quickly become one of my favorite labels and when you take a good look at their Spring 2013 Ready to Wear collection, I believe you will understand why.

I confess, often times when viewing runway collections, I have to take a step back from the designers’ sometimes abstract presentation of the garments and in my mind’s eye translate them into something more practical and wearable for the modern woman.  With Rodarte, I didn’t feel the need to take that extra mental step as most of the collection is extremely wearable in its natural state, which is remarkable considering just how futuristic and artistic the 2013 RTW show was!

A little background before we get to the main event,  Rodarte was established in California circa 2005 by sisters Laura and Kate Mulleavy.  The sisters had immediate success with their first 10 piece collection, gaining recognition by Vogue powerhouse Anna Wintour.  The rest is recent history as Rodarte has gone on to win multiple awards, partner with Target and Gap as well as become a favorite brand of celebrities such as Cate Blanchette, Rihanna and Jay-Z.

These are my personal favorites from the Spring 2013 collection:

This bodice is very flattering, emphasizing the hourglass female figure.  I'd wear this on a date or to a cocktail party.

A little more couture, this is also a beautiful and playful dress!

Rock n Roll!

These pants are ILL and are paired so beaufiully with a classic top and statement necklace.

Just stunning, I want to see Gwyneth Paltrow in this look.  The hint of bright orange really makes it for me.

rodarte-rtw-ss2013-runway-12_161440321750

rodarte-rtw-ss2013-runway-32_161456477921

Breathlessly stunning work my the Mulleavy sisters.  Their vision is so inspired and expansive…I dare to make Alexander McQueen comparisons.  Rave, Rave for Rodarte!

2 thoughts on “Raves for Rodarte’s Spring 2012 RTW Collection

Leave a Reply

