Winning at Forever21.com

Sometimes I forget how many clothing gems are hiding between the over-trendy and over-stocked racks at Forever21.  Some subliminal impulse or deeply ingrained habit left over from highschool steers me blindly to my local 21 on every trip to the mall, but I always leave feeling super stimulated, like I just had a triple espresso.  The store is jam-packed with an overwhelming selection of merchandise, the music is reminiscent of a sour club experience at Myrtle Beach (flashbacks!), and apparently I’m getting old because teenagers in large groups are starting to give me headaches (no offense, teen readers, I sort of felt that way about teens when I was a teen.  Just not quite so noticeably).

All that being said, there are some really amazing fashion finds at 21!  And of course, the prices are so very benevolent to my bank account.  Forever 21, my landlord thanks you with gusto!  I will say, I have to be careful to balance my 21 items with other classic pieces and accessories in my closet to make sure that my looks aren’t excessively trendy or synthetic.  In today’s fashion culture it’s become completely acceptable for even mega rich celebs to rock garments from massive retail chains (Taylor Swift, Rihanna…), but for the best effect, low-end pieces are mixed with high-end (or at least items that look and feel high-end).

So in an attempt to maintain some semblance of peace on a Monday night, last night I skipped the mall and hit Forever21.com where I had a super relaxing shopping experience.  The only issue I have with online shopping, especially at Forever21, is the issue of size and fit.  Their clothes seem to be cut for the teenage body (other than their plus sized line) and well, I have hips.  Here’s hoping I’m still a medium.  I went to the SC Philharmonic the other night with my mom, and while I was there, I realized that I want to add a few more classic dresses to my wardrobe.  I’ll always be a bit of a rebel (some would say a lot of a rebel), but there’s something to be said for being a lady too.

This is a great little shift dress.  The material is linen-esque.

This is a great little shift dress. The material is linen-esque. I’m picturing it with ankle booties in a lighter color.

Forever21blue

Such a sweet dress, it reminds me of something you would find at J. Crew. I love the brown belt with it, and would add some knee-high brown leather boots to the look.

Forever21polca

This is a classy little get up, perfect for a date or cocktail party. I would more than likely keep it simple with some black pumps.

Sexy!!  Bodycon dresses always fit the bill when you want to sex things up a little bit!  The long sleeves on this one keep it demure enough and the studs add some toughness to a super-fem look.

Sexy!! Bodycon dresses always fit the bill when you want to sex things up a little bit! The long sleeves on this one keep it demure enough and the studs add some toughness to a super-fem look.

 

One thought on “Winning at Forever21.com

Leave a Reply

