The Laboratory is Open to Visitors…Outfit Science

If you read yesterday’s post, you’re in the loop regarding the exciting activities of  last Friday–my agent has landed her own reality show, The New Rules of Glam with Ericka DeAbreu, and we shot episode 1 on Friday.  It was a fun adventure, as well as a very educational experience.  I love trying new things… including restaurants!  After a very long day (the television shoot was sandwiched between the two legs of my nine-hour shift at the restaurant), my friend Casey and I went to dinner at a restaurant I’d never been to before, Momo’s on Devine, an upscale bistro on the very hip Devine Street in downtown Columbia, South Carolina.  What better way to unwind than with delicious food, good wine, live jazz and wonderful company?  I can’t think of any…  More on the dining experience in a post that is soon to come; for now lets focus on the outfit of the occasion!

You can see the ensemble from the chest up in the above shot, and here it is from head to toe:

TheGodfather

Turn up the lights in here baby; Extra bright I want y’all to see this!

I had just purchased this Godfather t-shirt, which is my absolute favorite movie (to drive home my point, let me inform you that I fell asleep watching The Godfather Part II last night)!  I paired the cut off t-shirt with my new high-waisted, almost knee-length leapord skirt. It made for a lovely silhouette that way, but considering the t-shirt is sleeveless, I added a Grandpa sweater that I’ve had for years to warm things up a bit.

In an attempt to maintain the hour-glass effect of the original outfit (pre-Grandpa sweater), I cinched the waist with a black and brown waist belt and added black pumps.  My earrings are composed of a gold strand of chain that is connected to both earring hooks, creating a necklace effect.  They really took the outfit up a notch, in my opinion, and inspired my friend Casey to call me a hipster.  Coming from a New Yorker, I took that as a real compliment! The earrings were from a customer at the restaurant I work at, she makes them and sells them for $3 a piece!   What a steal for a very unique find.  If you’re interested in purchasing a pair like these from the jeweler, or in seeing her other products you can email her at BdazzledArtandDesigns@gmail.com.  Her name is Marquitta.

Looking back on this outfit, it could have used a splash of color.  Perhaps next time I will wear my purple waist belt with the gold buckle.

Now the moment of truth!  How much did it cost?

Earrings:  $3

Shirt:  $13 (Forever21)

Skirt:  $8 (Ross)

Belt:  $8 (Forever21)

Shoes:  $30 (Payless)

Anklet:  $10

Bracelet:  I can’t really remember, but will estimate around $8

Grand total…including all accessories:  $72, which was way less than our meals.  I’m just saying.  *Brushes shoulders off*

I love you guys!  See ya soon and the Happiest of Happy New Years to you all!!

Leave a Reply

