Vintage Chanel Jewelry is Now Available for Rent on RenttheRunway.com

Good morning beautiful readers!  I sincerely hope you all had a fabulous Holiday with your family, friends and loved ones.  And I don’t even have to ask if you looked fresh for all of your holiday photo-ops, because I already know!  The question is, did anyone else practice their picture smile in the mirror while putting on makeup?  Ahem.

My Christmas was wonderfully spent with my immediate family in sweater-weather SC, sadly sans my little brother, who is currently serving the USA in Kosovo.  He was greatly missed, but was with us in spirit as we ate, laughed and exchanged gifts.  My favorite gifts of the year are my Heat Rush by Beyoncé perfume, a few books:  The Freelancer’s Bible, Harper Bazaar’s Fabulous at Every Age and Lessons from Madame Chic:  20 Stylish Secrets I Learned While Living in Paris. 

My family seemed pleased with the gifts I chose for them as well, and most of all we reveled being in each others’ company in good health and spirits.

As the festivities wound down into pajama time, I was navigating the fashion internet and discovered on my periodic trip to RenttheRunway.com that they now offer VINTAGE CHANEL JEWELRY for rent on their site!! I half-heartedly apologize for yelling at you, but I’m seriously excited and hope you are too!  These classic pieces are usually reserved for the rich and/or famous with prices into the thousands, but now you can rent them for your special event (or everyday use, whatever your style may be) at a minor fraction of the purchase cost.  Naturally, it would be much more gratifying to provide them with a permanent home in my jewelry box…but who has a jewelry budget that equates to two-months rent?!  Not this girl!  Check out some of my favorite pics below, and peep the entire collection at http://www.RenttheRunway.com.

jewelry_earrings_wgaca_vintage_chanel_black_button_cc_0

Retail for $880; Rent for $100

jewelry_earrings_wgaca_vintage_chanel_cc_three_line_drop_2

Retails at $1,210; Rent for $100

jewelry_necklace_wgaca_vintage_chanel_cc_circle_link_choker_0

Retail $1,870; Rent $175

jewelry_earrings_wgaca_vintage_chanel_cc_pink_gripoix_drop_0

Retail $1,430; Rent $125

handbag_wgaca_vintage_chanel_black_multi_chain_bag_0

Bags Too! Retails at $3,960; Rent for $250

Of course I can’t just stick to the accessories section of any site, so I found some amazing dresses as well.  This one was my favorite…

16615_studdedjerseycutoutgown_1343080101_921This navy blue, jersey-knit, studded, cut-out Zac Posen dress is so beautiful, elegant and edgy in one swoop.  The front is an off-the-shoulder swoop neck that apparently requires double-sided tape to make sure the girls don’t make an unexpected appearance!  I only know this because the site offers handy customer reviews of each dress as well as uploaded photos from customers (so you can see how the dress fits on a normal human versus Avatar).  This Zac Posen gown retails for $495 but can be rented for 4 days in two different sizes (your size and a back-up size) for $100.  It may seem a little impractical, but how many people want to wear the same gown multiple times to major events?  Especially a formal gown.  So why make repeat outfit appearances at $500 a pop, when you can get your wear out of it once for 1/5 of the cost?  That’s my logic at least…

 
Photo courtesy of RenttheRunway.com

Leave a Reply

