The 2012 Best Dressed Lists Are In!

Well, apparently there is no room for last-minute sprints to the finish line in the fashion race.  Holiday parties and premieres be damned….the best dressed lists have been voted, tallied and reported!  The results are a mix of mainstream and just-under-the-mainstream-radar actresses, singers and models (lots of models).

According to WhimsingtonGardens’ resident expert, the results  of the polls are satisfying enough but missing a few key players.  One or two of which, my dedicated readers may be able to predict, or hypothesize.  Other WG additions may surprise you considering they don’t get as much shine around these parts as say…Rihanna and Beyoncé.  But, per usual, there’s no time like the present to expand our horizons and share our diverse tastes in aesthetics, fashion and the like.  On that note, I’m simmering my own opinions down for a few minutes to report those of my elders…the Fashion Greats over at Vogue Magazine and Vanity Fair.

First, Vogue Magazine’s Top Ten.

Leading the Pack is…

Emma Stone in Chanel!

Vogue’s Second Choice

Actress Rooney Mara in Givenchy.

Rounding out Third…

LeeLee Sobieski in Dior.

This Vogue top three sort of puts me to sleep.  I’m a little confused as to how they made their choices.  The structure of the slide show/list makes me believe that they may have chosen the top outfits of the year versus the best dressed stars of the year.  Maybe I’m wrong.  Definitely I’m bored.  Check out the remainder of the list at:  http://www.vogue.com/fashion/10-best-dressed/best-dressed-of-2012/

Now, onto a much more diverse, interesting and comprehensive list.  That belonging to Vanity Fair.  Their’s doesn’t seem to have any particular hierarchy, no top or bottom of the list.  I find that to be refreshing, but not nearly as refreshing as their variety!!  Below are some of my faves from their list.

Princess Alexandria

Kate Middleton in Alexander McQueen.

Actress Jessica Chastain in Alexander McQueen

Oh man, I love this one. Bill Cuningham, photographer for the New York Times style section.

Adding some curves to this list! Alicia Keys, ladies and gentlemen.

Hova! Hova! Wearing Tom Ford. I hope Bey is proud of her hubs and not salty that she was left off of the list.

Fan Bingbing, in her own design I believe.

View the remainder of VF’s slide show here: http://www.vanityfair.com/style/2012/09/the-2012-international-best-dressed-list#slide=1

Now, the moment we’ve all been waiting for!  WG’s additions to the fashion elite!!

Gwen in Calvin Klein

Gwen gets it right every time. The chick just has a gift.  And one hell of an impressive celebrity clothing line.  Check out the L.A.M.B. Fall 2012 collection here:   http://www.l-a-m-b.com/

Duh….

The Tomboy Glam Queen Herself….Rihanna

I just can’t get enough of Rihanna’s feminine/tomboy coupled with hiphop/haute couture combinations!  Again, it takes innate instinct or a stylist in your back pocket to pull these looks off.  I’m pretty sure a lot of it, if not all, comes from Rih’s creative mental.

Newest and Last…my newest muse from the net

I end this post asking myself, would I rather be expert enough to vote in this expensive competition?  Or would I rather be the muse…fashionable enough to be included in the list?  A girl’s got to dream.

2 thoughts on “The 2012 Best Dressed Lists Are In!

Leave a Reply

