Beauty Remedies From Your Medicine Cabinet at the Beckoning of Your Conciousness!

In keeping with an attempted holistic approach, I was recently turned on by the idea of using natural oils to cleanse the skin versus drugstore or even department store cleansers.  Many of those cleansers are loaded with artificial and often harmful ingredients such as:  crude oils, preservatives, dyes, fragrances, detergents and animal testing Oh My!  This experiment in transitioning from store-bought cleansers to homeade began with a conversation a customer and I had at Mega Coffee USA Superchain…place of now former employment by the way.  Eek!  (Disclaimer:  I’m really grateful that it financially supported me as long as it did…but I’m excited to part ways and head off in new directions!).

Back to the conversation at hand…I was complaining to a fellow female mid-twenties customer about my skin’s recent breakout ! Readers, I don’t know what is going on…stress, hormones, diet?  I can’t isolate the cause, but I’m about to attack it from all of the above mentioned angles.  Something’s gonna give.  The customer shared that at some point in her skins’ aging, the other stuff just stopped working for her. She’s since gone all natural in her skincare and makeup routine and everything has been kosher.  As I pondered this over the next couple of weeks, I began to think that this may be a rational reason as to why my skin is going crazy. Now, I’m actually testing the theory.

My guru, Khuruh, suggests that as the consciousness and soul evolves, our body will often demand that our habits evolve as well to match our finer and higher consciousness.

This makes absolute sense to me and I’ve seen it happening consciously and subconsiously in my life.  I officially quit even social smoking a few months ago and in the past few years, my taste buds have evolved to appreciate varieties of food that I never found appetizing before and to shun lower grade and energy foods.  That being said ,maybe my skin is calling for more purity in its care.

My mom is currently using a concoction of 2/3 extra virgin olive oil and 1/3 castor oil for her cleanser and suggested that I use the opposite proportions for mine considering we have different cleansing needs.  So, a few nights ago I started using my very own 2/3 castor oil and 1/3 olive oil mix to cleanse and moisturize my face.

Steps:

1. Shower or steam face with warm washcloth to open pores

2.  Coat cotton ball in oil mix and wipe entire face with the cotton ball.

3.  Place warm washcloth over face for about a minute or until the cloth cools, then wipe off oil…No need to moisturize.

So far…I love how my skin feels after I use it and it seems to calm my face versus irritate it the way a lot of medicated cleansers do.  I can’t give a hell yeah two thumbs up on the cleanser for a few weeks; I’d hate to mislead.  Since I have oily skin, it’s a little scary to clease it with pure oil,but I’m taking a risk and a little leap of faith in the hopes that it pays off…SOON! I’ll keep you guys posted.

Leave a Reply

